Today's Top Words:
united 13 palace manchester p crystal solskjaer james first against penalty man old gunnar game
Continental Cup fixtures announced

Below is a summary of the full article. Click here for the full version or go back to MUFC Live

Skip to Main NavigationSkip to content


Sam Carney

Share With facebook Share With whatsapp Share With sina weibo Share With email

Casey Stoney’s side will begin the cup quest with a home derby - the holders Manchester City will come to Leigh Sports Village on Sunday 20 October (12:00 BST kick-off).

Our women's team will then travel to Merseyside on Sunday 3 November to play Everton, with kick-off at Walton Hall Park scheduled for 12:30 BST.

FA Women’s Championship side Leicester City will visit Leigh Sports Village on Thursday 21 November, before we close out the group on 11 December, facing Birmingham City at Solihull Moors FC. Both fixtures kick off at 19:30 BST.

Then a Championship side, the Reds caused a cup upset last season by beating Everton 3-0.

The Continental League Cup is contested by all 23 teams from the FA Women's Super League and FA Women's Championship, with participants split into four groups, three of which include six teams – ours is the only one with five.

The top two sides in each group then qualify for the quarter-final stage.


Of course, 2018/19 marked the first time United Women had competed in the Continental League Cup and it was an impressive debut for the Reds.

Stoney's squad overcame fellow Championship team Durham and two outfts from the Women's Super League, Everton and Liverpool, to win Group Two North and set up a last-eight tie against another top-flight side, West Ham United.

Jess Sigsworth's double enabled us to see off the Hammers, but the eventual WSL champions Arsenal proved a step too far in the semi-final, with Vivianne Miedema’s brace at Meadow Park inflicting a narrow 2-1 defeat.

This time around, United will be aiming to become just the third different club to lift the trophy since the competition started eight years ago, after Arsenal (winners in 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2018) and Manchester City (2014, 2016, 2019).

Jess Sigsworth's double gave us a quarter-final win against West Ham in last season's competition.


Sunday 20 October, 12:00 – Manchester City (H), Leigh Sports Village

Sunday 3 November, 12:30 – Everton (A), Walton Hall Park

Thursday 21 November, 19:30 – Leicester City (H), Leigh Sports Village

Wednesday 11 December, 19:30 – Birmingham City (A), Solihull Moors FC

Reading this in our app? If not, you might miss some exclusive features not found on Download the Official App here.


Sam Carney

Share With facebook Share With whatsapp Share With sina weibo Share With email

Back to Top

Early team news for Wolves v United

Read article

Our website uses cookies and other similar technologies to improve our site and your online experience. By continuing to use our website you consent to cookies being used. See our Cookie Policy to find out more.

For more news relating to Manchester City, visit our sister site MCFC Live.
Click to visit manutdcom | Click to return to MUFC Live
Share MUFC Live

Dont Buy The Sun

rss icon

Arsenal News - Chelsea News - Everton News - Liverpool FC News - Man City News - Manchester United News - Newcastle News - Spurs News - West Ham News - Celtic News - Rangers News - BeIN Sports Schedule - < - Contact

©2018 MUFC Live.

Valid XHTML 1.0 StrictDont Buy The Sun [Valid RSS]